Tags

, , , , ,

John Piper made a lot of people unhappy when he invited Rick Warren to speak at the Desiring God national conference coming up later this year.  There has been no shortage of critiques of Piper’s decision.  Well known bloggers and pastoral leaders alike, including Tim Challies, Phil Johnson, Douglas Wilson, Justin Taylor, and Michael Horton, have weighed in with thoughtful responses.

If you’re interested in this controversial development, you’ve probably read all of those.  In this post I simply want to link to three other articles that you may not have seen.  (If you haven’t read the other responses I mentioned but want to, you’ll find links to all of them in the three articles below.)

The most recent of the three is this article at Christianity Today by Collin Hansen, author of Young, Restless and Reformed.  Hansen wants Christians to care about the implications of this controversy, and wonders how well evangelicals can make the “shift from destruction to construction.”

Out of everything I read, I think this post by Trevin Wax was my favorite.  Trevin makes a much needed appeal for humility, and models it in the process.

The third and final post is by Bob Hayton (who has an interesting story all his own which you can read here).  Bob’s post was written prior to the recently ended Together for the Gospel conference and considers what it really means to be unified around the gospel.  Here are Bob’s thoughts.

That’s (almost) all for this post.  I’m way too busy to do anything other than post a few links or videos or posts that were actually composed before I started my currently insane work schedule.

One final thought on this subject:  If there’s any way I can work it out, I’d like to go to the Desiring God 2010 National Conference this fall.  Have any of the rest of you considered going?