Tags

, , , , , ,

Fools for Christ

I met a guy when I was in my early 20’s who was one of the most evangelistic Christians I’ve ever known.  He would talk to anyone, anywhere about following Christ.  He loved going to college campuses and other public places and sharing the gospel with anyone who would stop and talk.  I don’t know where he is now, or what he’s doing, but I do know that sometimes I wish I was more like him.

There are a lot of other people who take public preaching seriously.  These are the words of Ron and Karen Rohman:

“We simply argue that the cross be raised again, at the center of the market place as well as on the church building… We are recovering the claim that Jesus was not crucified in a cathedral between two candles, but on a cross between two thieves, on the town garbage heap, on crossroads so cosmopolitan that they had to write His title in Hebrew, Latin, and Greek—at the kind of place where cynics talk smut, thieves curse, and soldiers gamble, because that is where He died, and that is what He died about, and that is what followers of Jesus should be about.”

Ron and Karen Rohman are friends of Randy Alcorn.  In this post, the Rohman’s relay another very encouraging story from their years of experience sharing the gospel out in the streets.

I often wonder why I’m not more like my friend.  Is it because I’m reluctant to be laughed at and rejected for sharing Christ with people  Am I willing to be labeled weird, as Loretta asks in this post?  Or, to use more biblical language, am I willing to be a fool for Christ?  Am I willing to be ridiculed (and maybe hated) for loving my friends and family and even total strangers enough to try to share the gospel with them?

For the past few years, our church has taken a month in the summer and gone to some of the parks in town on Sunday evenings, offering those in the neighborhood a picnic supper and a chance to hear the gospel.  Over time we hope to build relationships with folks in those neighborhoods and lead some of them to Christ.  Below is a short video clip of our very first “church in the park” a few years ago, just to give you a sense of what we’re trying to do.  (Sorry about the poor quality of the recording).

Have you ever been involved in any type of open air preaching or street witnessing?  I’d like to hear from you.  Stories of successes and failures are both welcome!