Tags

, , , , , ,

I posted this on Facebook yesterday, but since I haven’t blogged in a while, and many of my readers aren’t Facebook friends, I thought I would post it here as well.  I have to say that I do so with some hesitation, and a caveat.  I mean no disrespect to Davy Jones, or to any of the millions of people all over the world who loved him.  My entire family is saddened by his death.  Please understand that.  This was simply one of those times when a series of unfortunate mistakes quite unexpectedly erupted into a moment of comic relief.

With that said, here is a text conversation I had with my daughter Sydney yesterday:

ME: Davy Jones died
SYD: I know 😦 i saw it
ME: He was only 66
SYD: How
ME: Article I say didn’t say

(…after I sent that I realized the first “say” should have been “saw”, so I sent a follow-up text intended to correct my mistake)

ME: Saw
SYD: He died from a saw?

(…I cannot even explain how hard I laughed at that point)