Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord;
he turns it wherever he will.  (Proverbs 21:1)

King Nebuchadnezzar’s story is told in Daniel 4.  He learned the hard way that God “does according to his will among the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand or say to him, ‘What have you done?'” (Daniel 4:35)   Likewise Job, at the height of his suffering and despair, recognized that God’s sovereign purpose and power were irresistible; “I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.” (Job 42:2)

One of the ways God accomplishes his purposes is by turning “the king’s heart” (and the president’s) “wherever he will.”  Yesterday I urged you to pray sincerely for President-elect Barack Obama.  Today I urge you to pray specifically for the Lord to turn his heart.  I’ll explain that in a moment.

First, I want to point out that this election clearly created somewhat of an inner crisis for many pro-life African-Americans.  I’ve come to the conclusion that very few white Americans, myself included, really understand how difficult that dilemma was for some African-American conservatives.

I think the closest I’ve been able to come to understanding it is by looking through the eyes of Eric Redmond.  I listened to him describe his conflict back in July.  I really tried to understand his turmoil, but frankly struggled to identify with certain aspects of it.  Today Eric opened his heart again, and what I read this time encouraged me tremendously.  In spite of tremendous pressure (from within and without) to do otherwise, he voted pro-life.  Although his vote was swallowed in defeat, and will probably cost him some friends, it was a personal victory.

The reason Eric Redmond could not vote for Barack Obama, when it came right down to it, was because of Obama’s radically pro-abortion agenda.  He’s already announced that he will make signing the horrendous Freedom of Choice Act a top priority.  It is tragically ironic that the specter of black genocide casts a pall over the historic election of this nation’s first African-American president. According to recent statistics, nearly half of all African-American preganancies end in abortion.  Nearly half! What breaks my heart even more is that the percentage of black abortions is likely to increase under the administration of our first black president.

That brings me back to the purpose of this post.  I am asking the Lord to turn Barack Obama’s heart, like a stream of water, away from the disastrous course he currently intends to take.  The Lord can do that.  In an instant.  That’s what I’m praying for today, and that’s what I’m asking you to pray for.