Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    A scene from the Sikeston Little Theatres youth production of Oscar Wildes comedy The Importance of Being Earnest

A scene from the Sikeston Little Theatre's production of Oscar Wilde's comedy "The Importance of Being Earnest"

Tonight I’m turning away from the national stage, which seems to have dominated my blogging lately, and turning my attention to the local stage.  Literally.  Tonight my daughter makes her directorial debut at the Sikeston Little Theatre.

She and her assistant competed against another team of youth a few months ago, each hoping to win the opportunity to direct the Little Theatre’s first ever “play selected, cast, acted, directed and completely staffed by local youth.”  Each team had to pitch their choice of play and plan of action to the Board of Directors.  My daughter’s team was selected, and the rest, as they say, is history (or at least it will be, after the fourth and final production Sunday).

Since the play opens tonight, it was the lead story in our local newspaper today. My daughter and others were interviewed for the piece.  Unfortunately (although not at all uncommonly), they misspelled her name.  It’s Sydney Dzurny.  And in case you hadn’t already picked up on it, I’m very proud of her.  You can read the article here.