Tags

, , , , , ,

My mother’s maiden name was Gregory, so the title of a post over at BibleDude.net caught my eye today.  Now that I think about it, it’s a little odd that I’ve never really wondered what my mom’s family name meant.  Oh well… now I know.  Turns out it’s a perfect name for the Advent season.

In [Mark 13] verse 33, Christ declares, “Be on guard, keep awake.”  And in verse 35, “Therefore, stay awake.”  And finally our text closes with, “And what I say to you I say to all:  Stay awake.”  Jesus message to his four disciples that day was to be alert and watch for his coming.  His message is the same for us today.

The last word in our text is the Greek word gragoreo.  This word when translated may mean to be watchful, be on the alert, be wide awake, or to be alive.

The early Christians reminded themselves of this message of Christ to be alert for his coming by naming their sons after this word gragoreo.  This word is where we get our name Gregory.

In verse 33, Christ declares, “Be on guard, keep awake.” And in verse 35, “Therefore, stay awake.” And finally our text closes with, “And what I say to you I say to all: Stay awake.” Jesus message to his four disciples that day was to be alert and watch for his coming. His message is the same for us today.

The last word in our text is the Greek word gragoreo. This word when translated may mean to be watchful, be on the alert, be wide awake, or to be alive.

The early Christians reminded themselves of this message of Christ to be alert for his coming by naming their sons after this word gragoreo. This word is where we get our name Gregory.

You see we are all to be Gregory(s). We are all to be alert, wide awake, and watchful for Christ coming. We, in a sense, are called to be Gregory.

Advent is a time of expectant waiting and preparation for the coming of Christ.  We look back and celebrate the first coming of Christ, and long for his second coming.

I don’t think I always take the commands to be alert and watchful seriously enough.  Jesus reinforced those commands with a strong warning in the parable of the ten virgins (Matthew 25:1-13).  If you haven’t read it lately, take a minute and click the link.  It really is a sobering admonition.

I want to live up to the family name.  I want to be a true Gregory.  Come, Lord Jesus! (Rev. 22:20)