Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As I was thinking about writing this post, it occurred to me that explosives may have inadvertently become a recurring theme here.  I once wrote about Christians who unwittingly play around with TNT; another time I quoted Charles Spurgeon’s criticism of preachers who explode rather than expound Scripture.

Today’s explosive post comes in the form of an excerpt comes from the book, Kisses from Katie, by Katie Davis.  We’re reading it out loud together at home right now.  On a side note, do someone a favor this Christmas and pick up a copy of this book for them.  Get one for yourself, too, if you haven’t read it.  I may not always see eye-to-eye with Katie theologically, but her compassion and Christ-like, sacrificial service are not only deeply moving, but also very challenging and humbling.

In chapter nine Katie describes the endless barrage of questions that her adopted Ugandan children constantly unleash on her.

One of the questions that surprised me most was this: “Mommy, if Jesus comes to live inside my heart, will I explode?”

“No!” I proclaimed as the children and I headed to the Nile River for a few of them to be baptized that day.

Then I thought about the question a bit more.

“Yes, if Jesus comes to live in your heart, you will explode.” That is exactly what we should do if Jesus comes to live inside our hearts. We will explode with love, with compassion, with hurt for those who are hurting, and with joy for those who rejoice. We will explode with a desire to be more, to be better, to be close to the One who made us.”

It may be more accurate to say that whether Jesus lives in your heart or not, you will still explode, and whatever is in your heart will come out.

The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. (Luke 6:45 ESV)

Sometimes, I’m sorry to say, I find my heart exploding with things that are unworthy of Christ.  Today, I pray for the grace to explode “with love, with compassion… and with joy” — the kind that can only come from Jesus living in me.