Tags

, , , , , , ,

That’s not the title of a new book.  (Well, at least not yet.)  It’s just a simple, touching, true story.

A family in our church made what some people considered a crazy (if not foolish) decision over a year ago.  They were asked by a Chinese orphanage they supported if they would consider adopting a hearing-impaired little girl who lived in the orphanage.  They already had a large family.  I think a few people questioned their sanity for even considering it.  But the more they thought and prayed about it, the more convinced they became that there was no way they could say no.

They’ve been in China for almost two weeks and are returning to the United States tomorrow; I can’t wait to see them and hear all about their trip.  Until then, I’m thankful I’ve had their blog to read.  They’ve been pretty transparent about the ups and downs and unexpected emotions they’ve experienced along the way.  I’m going to give you links to those blog posts in just a minute.

Before I do that, though, I want to say one more thing about Jay and Camille.  They wouldn’t want you to think that they’ve done something unusual, or that they’re somehow an extraordinary family.  They would want you to think that they’re a very ordinary family with an extraordinary God.  Because they are… and He is.

The Chinese Adoption Chronicles

Here are the links.  In some cases I’ll say just a word or two about the post:

That’s it, so far.  I want to close with this thought. Caring for orphans, for the fatherless, is something that’s commanded throughout the entire Bible.  If you’re a follower of Christ, that’s something you have to take seriously.  I’ll leave you alone with the Lord to ponder the implications of that fact.

Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.  (James 1:27)