Tags

, , , , , , ,

Photo taken during rehearsal by Jill Bock, Standard Democrat

A couple of years ago my son made his acting debut in a local little theater production of “The Music Man.”  It might not be totally accurate to say that he began his acting career at that point; he’s always been a bit of a ham.  At any rate, I was very proud of him, not so much because of his performance in the musical, as because of his humility and hard work.  If you missed that story you can read about it here (you’ll need to scroll down past the video clip).

Tonight, he takes the stage as Oliver Twist in the Sikeston Little Theatre production of “Oliver!”  Our local newspaper had a nice writeup about the production last Sunday.  Here’s a link to page one of the article.  When you finish the first page, you can read page two by clicking on the ‘Continuation’ link found at the top of page one.  If that doesn’t work, you can download this slightly disjointed PDF version of the article: Family production filled with song and dance numbers.

Hopefully I’ll be able to post a few photos and video clips from the play at a later date.  For now, all I want to say to my son, my father-in-law, and all the rest of the cast is, “Break a leg.”  No matter how the play turns out, my little man (although I think it will be splendid), your dad is now and always very very proud of you.