Tags

, , , , , , , ,

ESV Study Bible

......... By jeffreylo on flickr .........

One could scarcely overstate the importance of Bible reading and memorization.  So many good Bible reading plans have been developed over the years that I think there’s a plan to fit every need.  Most of the links below include some plans that are not found at any of the other links.

First up is a unique plan that covers only half of the Bible in a year, providing more time to reread and meditate on certain passages.  It incorporates articles from the ESV Study Bible, as well.  This is the plan I’m using this year:

A New Way to Spend the Year in God’s Word

(Note added:  Just came across another unique plan with the same goal of reading less and meditating more.)

This next post, although a few years old, offers a good overview of several different plans.  Some of these plans are unique as well.  For instance, some cover only the Old Testament, or only the New Testament:

23 Bible Reading Plans That Will Satisfy Anyone

The Desiring God blog also posted a list of plans recently:

2011 Bible Reading Plans

Last, but not least, the ESV Bible website has a nice list of plans.  All of the ESV plans are available in multiple formats—Web, RSS, iCal, Mobile, and Print.  For whatever it’s worth, I try to avoid web based plans, because I tend to wander all over the internet when I should be reading my Bible! If you know you have that same tendency, consider that a word to the wise.:

Reading Plans

A couple of closing thoughts

I never want to read my Bible just to say I’ve read it.  I want to read it so it can read me:

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.  (Hebrews 4:12-13)

Likewise, I want to memorize Scripture not just to say that I’ve done it, but because I know that I can’t live without it (Matthew 4:4). John Piper underscores that point:

I’m not into mechanical memorizing. I’m into fighting the fight of faith. I want to memorize Scripture so that I can defeat the devil at 3 o’clock in the afternoon, that’s why! It’s so that I can minister to a saint in the hospital at 10 o’clock at night if I’ve forgotten my Bible. This is for our soul.  (Read the rest.)

May we all love and remember God’s Word first and foremost because we love and treasure The Word who became flesh.