Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I wonder if anyone would say that they don’t want stability and depth and freedom in their lives.  John Piper argues in Future Grace (correctly, I believe) that those qualities are a result of absolute, unwavering confidence in God’s sovereignty:

“Once you walk through the door of love into the massive, unshakable structure of Romans 8:28 everything changes.  There come into your life stability and depth and freedom. You simply can’t be blown over any more. The confidence that a sovereign God governs for your good all the pain and all the pleasure that you will ever experience is an incomparable refuge and security and hope and power in your life.  When God’s people really live by the future grace of Romans 8:28 – from measles to the mortuary – they are the freest and strongest and most generous people in the world.  Their light shines and people give glory to their Father in heaven (Matthew 5:16).”

Knowing how deeply painful and even apparently absurd life can be makes that way of thinking all the more remarkable.  With that, I’m going to make what may seem like a strange segue to a movie review.

I had already thought that I might want to go see the remake of ‘True Grit.’  After reading this review, I’m certain that I do:

Narrative and the Grace of God: The New ‘True Grit’