Tags

, , , , ,

In the wee hours of the morning last Tuesday, I received a phone call.  It was my sister.  She had just been notified that my dad was killed instantly in an auto accident on Monday evening.  He was returning home from a doctor’s appointment when a semi pulled out into the southbound lanes of Highway 41 near Evansville, Indiana.  It was dark.  For some reason Dad never saw the flatbed trailer.  The Evansville local news reported the story.

Most of you who know me personally already know about our loss.  I could never possibly thank you enough for the many expressions of love and concern that you’ve showered on my family.  I know that the Lord himself will reward your love and kindness.

Obviously, I haven’t felt much like writing lately, and may not for a while.  The purpose of this post is simply to honor Dad and provide you with a link to his obituary, which I’ll do in a minute.  Dad was generous, hard-working, and bright.  He was a caring father to my brother and sister and I, and a loving grandpa.  He will be sorely missed.

I wish I didn’t have to say this, but I do.  Life is fragile, and will one day end for each one of us.  I plead with you to be prepared for your own unavoidable date with death—“it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment…” (Hebrews 9:27).  Repent of your sin and follow Christ.  There is no other way to be prepared for that day.

Here is Dad’s obituary.  If you want, you can share a story about Dad, upload a picture, or read (and sign) his guest book.  We would love to hear from you:  In Memory of Sanford Ray “Stan” Wallace