Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love animals.  So does my 10 year old son, although he’s much more reticent than I am about handling some of the creatures we both love.

I work in a semi-rural location.  That means, among other things, that I’ve seen all of the following at one time or another on our property:  red foxes, skunks, bald eagles, and various species of snakes, turtles, and frogs, to name just a few.  Occasionally through the years I’ve caught some of those creatures (mainly the snakes, turtles, and frogs), taken them home for my kids to see and enjoy, and then released them.

This summer I brought home a little green tree frog.  My 10 year old son wanted to keep him.  I thought about it, talked to him about the responsibility of caring for a small wild animal, and decided that we would do it.

Just in case you’ve ever wondered, little green tree frogs make big noise, way out of proportion to their size–and they’re nocturnal.  You know what that means.  Through the night and on in to the early morning hours, our little green tree frog would croak loudly, not caring at all that his captors were trying to sleep.  The croak actually sounds more like a quack or a bark.  It’s not only fascinating to hear, it’s fascinating to watch.

For a while my son was good about remembering to change the frog’s water and feed him; actually, feeding him was a bit of a challenge, because my son is also more reticent than I am about handling the creatures we both love’s food–in this case, live crickets.  He learned to do it, although he never learned to like doing it.

Eventually, though, he had to be reminded more and more often to take care of his frog.  I decided that now, before cool weather arrives, would be a good time to release the frog.  My son agreed.  So this morning, before work, I released him back onto our property.

Fare-thee-well, little green tree frog.  (Methinks he smiled as he hopped away.)

Green Tree Frog    Litoria caerulea