Tags

, , , , , , ,

As is sometimes the case, this series of posts came about almost accidentally.  It began with a graphic I saw online several years ago.  The message it contained was both true enough and uncomfortable enough that it made a lasting impression on me.  I eventually incorporated it into this post (which also mentions a pastor named David Platt.  Remember that; I’ll come back to it later.)

A comment on that post reminded me of some articles on discipleship that I’d written several years ago at the request of my former pastor.  I decided to dust them off and republish them here.  Thus began this series.  Those articles formed the basis for the next three posts:

Discipleship

The Dissuasiveness of Jesus (Discipleship, Part 2)

The Promise No One Claims (Discipleship, Part 3)

Writing about discipleship always forces me to take a good hard look at myself; honesty compels me to admit that I’m not nearly as radical in my own obedience as I want to be. But some people are, and thankfully they don’t let the rest of us off the hook.

Katie Davis, who I wrote about in Part 4 of this series, is one of those people.  David Platt is another–which brings this post and this series full circle.  That’s because, ironically, I won a copy of David Platt’s book, Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream, in a contest at Fallen and Flawed (one of my favorite blogs).

My simple wish is that reading the book will lead me at least one step closer to living as radically as Jesus deserves and demands.  My hope is that you’ll join me in that adventure.