Tags

, , , , , , ,

For the last several years my family has supported and corresponded regularly with a young boy (now almost a young man) named Dalinksy through Compassion International.  If you’re not familiar with Compassion’s sponsorship program, I can’t encourage you too strongly to begin today supporting a child somewhere.  You can find out more about that here.

Dalinsky, who’s become dear to my whole family, lives in Haiti, which as the whole world now knows was devastated by an earthquake yesterday.  At the moment, we have no idea whether or not he’s safe.

I know I should always be moved by the plight of all those who are suffering everywhere, but I have to admit that I often don’t even think about the kind of suffering and deprivation millions of people in the world experience every day.  Having someone in Haiti who’s almost like a member of the family makes the tragedy there seem so much more personal.  On one hand, I recognize that probably exposes a serious deficiency in my concern for others; on the other hand, it may be a good reason for me (and perhaps you) to make a significant personal investment in the life of a needy child somewhere.

There are many heart-breaking stories coming out of the region now.  I read one report earlier today about a family who was in the process of adopting from Haiti.  They had already met the child and were going to leave this week to get her; instead, they just found out that she was killed in the earthquake.

I encourage you to join me in praying for those who are suffering in Haiti and in many other places around the world.  Here are a few ways that you can stay informed and get involved:

11 Charities Collecting Donations for Haiti

This is the blog of a family living and serving in Port-au-Prince.  They’re posting updates as they can:

The Livesay [Haiti] Weblog

And here are some news reports, one from World Magazine (with a link to a few more relief organizations at the end), one from the AP estimating that more than 100,000 may be dead (other reports speculate the death toll could reach 500,000), and a pictorial essay from the Boston Globe:

Search and rescue

Bodies piled on the street after powerful Haiti quake

Earthquake in Haiti

…weep with those who weep (Rom. 12:15b)