Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As you probably know, I am the new guy here at the “who am i?” blog.  If you missed out back in July, check out Barry’s interview with me here.

My wife and I have just recently moved to Louisville, Kentucky and I am now in my second week at Southern Seminary.  There are a lot of exciting things happening in and through Southern Seminary, and it’s exciting to be right in the middle of it.  I am pursuing my Masters in Divinity through the Billy Graham School of Missions and Evangelism.

This is the first in a series of blogs I will be posting throughout this semester.  The concept was birthed from a series of short conversations between Barry and I, and a lot of dreaming and brainstorming.  There are a lot of people out there who would love to go to seminary and attend these classes but that is just not possible and not where God has called them.  These are the people I have in mind during this series.  Not that I would in any way offer anything resembling seminary teaching, but that you would be able to get an inside view of what class is like, and hopefully contribute to some issues brought up in class.

We both thought it would be intriguing and beneficial to blog through a class for a semester.  My vision is that once a week I would discuss that week’s lecture and my general impressions on it.  I think this will be a pretty creative form of studying!  I very much would love to receive questions in the comments section that I can ask the professor or the teaching assistant.

We all agreed when looking at my schedule that the best class for the endeavor would be Introduction to Biblical Counseling: Methods and Skills, taught by Stuart Scott (not the ESPN Sportscenter Stuart Scott. I know…disappointing!).  We thought this would generate a lot of discussion and questions since there are a lot of Christians with different (and passionate) views on the subject.  We live in a society that increasingly sees the psychiatrist’s couch and the pharmacy as the solution to the issues going on in their lives.  Even by the most liberal of assessments, one would be hard-pressed to deny this.  But what is the Biblical model for this?  What is the church’s responsibility?  Is the Bible, the church and the pastorate sufficient to handle these difficult “psychological” issues?  Should the pastor refer their congregation to professional counselors outside the church, preferably one with a fish on their sign?

These are difficult issues, but they are issues we cannot afford to ignore.  The integrity of the gospel is at stake.  I invite you to join me in wrestling through these issues, and wrestle we will, for I am not coming into this with two feet firmly placed in any specific camp.

Do you have any initial thoughts, questions, or experiences regarding biblical counseling that you would like to share?  I look forward to tackling these issues with you.  May it all be for His glory.

The bio for Dr. Stuart Scott can be found here.