Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

CCrollerWelcome to the 291st edition of the Christian Carnival, a weekly collection of some of the best posts of the Christian blogosphere, open to Christians of Protestant, Orthodox, and Roman Catholic convictions.

This is my first time hosting the carnival. I always enjoy browsing through the posts that are submitted, and I’d like to take this opportunity to encourage some of my long time blog friends (you know who you are!) to consider participating in future Carnivals.

You can find detailed submission instructions here, join the weekly reminder list here, or just dive in head first and submit your post here.  Only posts published between midnight EST Tuesday night, August 25 and midnight EST Tuesday night, September 1 are eligible for next week’s carnival.

Incidentally, I took a look at the new InstaCarnival tool. I didn’t use it because I already had this carnival ready to go, but it looks like a tremendous time-saver.  If you’ve been hesitant to host because you weren’t sure if you had the time or the ability to do so, this tool will eliminate all your excuses make it a lot easier for you.

Without further ado, here are this week’s submissions, in the order I received them:

Jody Fransch presents New Media Evangelism posted at Jody fransch:

The world of media has never been as exciting and diverse as it is today. Everyday we are bombarded by various forms of media which compete for our attention. As a result…

Chris Reese presents Guest Blogger Dr. Win Corduan on His Book Handmaid to Theology posted at Cloud of Witnesses:

I’m pleased to welcome as a guest writer to Cloud of Witnesses Dr. Win Corduan, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Religion, Taylor University, Indiana…

William Green presents The moral philosophy of Jesus posted at Weblog of a Christian philosophy student:

Jesus as a philosopher. What are some interesting philosophical insights that could be gained from looking at Jesus’ statements? In this post, I will highlight a couple of things that Jesus said…

NCSue presents Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. posted at IN HIM WE LIVE AND MOVE AND HAVE OUR BEING:

The article “Fruits of Forgiveness” from the August 16 issue of Our Sunday Visitor tells about the murder of Gerald Gase, an 84-year-old man from Meadville, Pennsylvania…

Racquel Jacobs presents The Little Robe posted at Jacobs on the Wall:

The fact that Samuel is ministering before the Lord as a boy is extremely unusual.  A priest did not enter into the service of the priesthood until he was 30 years old. Until the age of 30…

mel presents A Kid’s Job posted at Finds For Families:

Isn’t it annoying that kids don’t just believe us about the rules? They have to try it out and see if we’re serious. Seems like every time I made a rule in my classroom…

Bob presents What is stewardship? posted at Christian Personal Finance:

I just started the Money Map Coach training course so that I can become one of Crown’s MM coaches. I have wanted to do it for a while…

Traci presents Dear Blog, a confession of adultery posted at Occasional Rants, Raves, and Praise.

Dear Blog, I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve visited with you. I’m afraid I have to admit to betrayal…

Michael presents Hedonism posted at Chasing the Wind:

Who knows what hedonism is? According to dictionary.com, “the doctrine that pleasure or happiness is the highest good; or, devotion to pleasure as a way of life.” What I found interesting…

Jeff presents The Penal Substitution Theory: On the Mark posted at ReturningKing.Com:

While all atonement theories examined thus far have failed at producing a biblically-based portrayal of the doctrine of salvation, Anselm had at least gotten close…

Rich Vosler presents Breaking a Perspective posted at Coaching and Inspiration:

Last weekend, my almost 5-yr-old son James broke his leg. We were at a family party and his teen siblings and cousins were playing a game of tackle football in the front yard…

michelle presents 08.22.09 posted at Thoughts and Confessions of a Girl Who Loves Jesus…:

As I continue to examine and study the book of James, I am led to wonder, am I a friend of God? It’s so easy to talk a good game…

Shannon Christman presents Can You Keep the Faith When You Lose Your Mind? posted at The Minority Thinker.

My aunt, the person who introduced me to Jesus, has Alzheimer’s disease. The woman who was the most “in-charge” person of our family now looks lost among her family…

Ken Brown presents Love Has Gravity ? A Review of The Time Traveler?s Wife posted at C. Orthodoxy.

Ever since he was six, Henry DeTamble (Bana) keeps disappearing and showing up in some other time and place. If that sounds like a great problem to have, it isn’t…

Annette presents God’s Bounty posted at Fish and Cans:

There are a few times during the year that I feel God’s bounty and goodness to me.

Tom Gilson presents Who Do You Say Jesus Was? posted at Thinking Christian.  In regard to this post and the comments, Tom asks:

Who do non-Christians say Jesus was? Here are some interesting answers, and some non-answers too.

Jeremy Pierce presents Psalm Headings and Matt 22:41-46 posted at Parableman.  Contemplating the Psalms, Jeremy notes:

A lot of scholars think the psalm headings are later additions, but it’s hard to adopt such a view on Psalm 110 while still accepting Jesus’ treatment of that psalm.

Rey presents Christian Ideals and the Reality of Sin posted at The Bible Archive:

I like to look at situation and, no matter how rough, consider what would be ideal. I think that’s important.  In circles with friends or family…

My contribution to the carnival is Reflecting my first year of blogging:

One year ago today, August 22, 2008, I tentatively published my first blog post…

That’s it for this week.  Submit your blog article (published from August 26 to September 1) to the next edition of christian carnival ii using our carnival submission form.  Past posts and future hosts can be found on our blog carnival index page.