Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m tired. Here’s a map explaining why.

Many of you know that my wife and I and our two youngest sons just completed a somewhat spur-of-the-moment 5200 mile road trip.  Ostensibly, we made the trip so my 16 year old could visit a couple of universities in California (more about that some other time).

Crunching some numbers, though, it was apparent that it would cost about the same for four of us to drive and do some sight-seeing as it would for two of us to fly and rent a car.

What to do?

Actually, it was a no-brainer.  I was the only member of my family who’d ever been to the Grand Canyon, and my wife had wanted to go her whole life.  So we seized the moment, and decided to take a mammoth road trip.

We saw, among other things:

  • The Petrified Forest and Painted Desert
  • The Grand Canyon
  • Sedona
  • The Sonoran Desert, home of the Saguaro cactus
  • The Great Salt Lake and Salt Lake Desert
  • The Garden of the Gods
  • Pike’s Peak

We had a maximum of 10 days to try to visit two campuses and squeeze in as much sight-seeing as we could.  We didn’t sleep much.  We drove hard.  One day we were standing at the top of Pike’s Peak, and a day and a half later we were standing in the sanctuary of our small church in southeast Missouri.  We maintained a grueling pace, but it was probably a once-in-a-lifetime trip, and we tried to make the most of it.  I believe we succeeded.

There’s more to the story than that.  I hope to post a few pictures and some details later in the summer.  But first, I have some more traveling to do… seriously.