Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lesson 1:  Gianna Jessen

Last year I posted a couple of videos of Gianna Jessen speaking in front of the Australian parliament.  I encourage you to go back and read that post and watch those clips, if you haven’t already.  They’re here.   You can read my reaction to her speech, and I would love to hear yours; comments are still open.  This time around, though, I want to point out something a little different than I did then.

What I want you to notice this time is that Ms. Jessen has an extremely high (and humbling) view of God’s sovereignty.  That’s most evident by the fact that she calls her physical disability (cerebral palsy)–which is a result of both a sinful choice and medical ineptitude (a botched saline abortion)–a gift from God.  And she not only calls her disability a gift from God, she radiates joy when she says it.  For her joy; for her humility; for her exalted view of Almighty God, I give thanks.

Lesson 2:  Jonah

I’ve heard a lot of people say that God never violates our free will.  I don’t believe that statement can be supported by Scripture.  In fact, I think there are many passages that flatly contradict it.

The story of Jonah provides a case in point.  A while back my friend David at “A Boomer in the Pew” shared some thoughts about Jonah that made me think in a slightly different way than I ever had before about Jonah’s unscheduled trip to Ninevah, by means of something a little… hmmm… lower-than-third-class travel accommodations.

David’s post was primarily about repentance.  Mine is primarily about God’s sovereignty.

Was Jonah willing to go to Ninevah?  Absolutely not.  In fact, he did everything in his power to resist going.  He had no compassion for the people in that city, and no intention of going to preach to them.  Yet, go he did; forcibly transported to Ninevah, very much against his will.

God’s sovereignty in Jonah’s life (and over Jonah’s will) are unmistakable in a story that would be humorous, if not sad.

A Parting Confession

In thinking about those two lessons in God’s sovereignty, I realize that I often tend to be more like Jonah than Gianna.  I hope, by God’s grace, to live to see that tendency completely reversed.