Tags

, , , , , , ,

I seldom write about SBC politics.  There’s a reason for that.  At one level (to put it rather bluntly), I just don’t give a rip about denominational politics, even though I’m a member of a small Southern Baptist Church. I doubt that many–if any–of my readers care much about denominational politics, either.  (Correct me if I’m wrong.)

Here are some things I do care about:

  • The glory of God
  • The gospel
  • Advancing God’s kingdom
  • My family
  • Sound doctrine
  • My local church
  • The eternal destiny of people all around me
  • The poor and needy
  • Orphans and widows
  • Life
  • Death

I could add quite a few more bullet points before “SBC Politics” would show up on that list.  Does that make me a bad Southern Baptist?  Maybe.  But that doesn’t bother me.

At another level, however, I actually do care about denominational business.  I care about it precisely to whatever extent it impacts, for better or for worse, the glory of God and the spread of the gospel; my family and my local church; and all of the other things on my list.

Ironically, though, the distinctly Baptist emphasis on the autonomy of the local church significantly minimizes the potential impact of denominational decisions on local churches. That’s why I care more about the reactions of local church leaders to the annual meeting than I do about the reactions of denominational leaders.

And that’s also why I’m thankful that my youth minister friend and my pastor have both said they’d like to share their reflections on the 2009 SBC Annual Meeting.  Watch for those posts… coming soon to a blog near you…

And then, it will probably be a long time before I write another word about the SBC.