Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

ist2_5891870-hebrewsI’ve been working a lot of overtime the last week or so, and my internet service and phone line are down at home, so I haven’t had much time or opportunity to be online.  I did just come across something, though, and I’m not sure what I think about it.

Several months ago I posted a link to Ryan Ferguson’s dramatic recitation of Hebrews 9 and 10 (and a few Psalms).  As one commenter noted, many scholars think the book of Hebrews may actually be a transcript of a first century sermon.  That seems probable to me, especially after listening to Ryan Ferguson.

Now I see that a paper to be presented in November at the annual meeting of the Evangelical Theological Society will argue that Hebrews is in fact a Pauline sermon transcribed by Luke, the physician who frequently traveled with Paul and would have heard him preach numerous times.

It’s an interesting thesis, and I find it pretty fascinating, but I wonder if there’s any real value in speculating about something which seems ultimately unprovable.  That’s not meant to be a criticism of the research or the researcher, it just makes me wonder about some things.