Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

falling-money1It’s expensive to adopt a child.  In fact, it’s ridiculously expensive.  That point was made more than once in the comments on my recent post on adoption and infertility.  My pastor’s wife responded with a word of encouragement for those who might be discouraged by the high cost of adoption:

It has been AMAZING to watch the Lord provide EVERY cent… I can’t tell you how many people I’ve talked with who write off adoption because it’s expensive. PLEASE DO NOT DO THIS!! I was definitely one of those people who would have never in a million years thought we’d be able to adopt because of finances. Never. And yet….the money has been there every step of the way.

Not coincidentally I ran across a post on this same topic at Adoptive Dads, published the very same day that Glenna made her comment.  Jason Kovacs, father of three adopted children, wrote:

For many families the dream of adoption ends when they see how much it costs. What was once a great desire is squashed by the reality of $20,000 – $40,000 in fees. For many, this seems impossible at first. What do you do if you find yourself in this position? Please don’t give up hope! Though the costs seem high, there is great encouragment from God’s Word about God’s ability to provide. There are also a growing number of resources available to help families with the cost of adoption.

The article includes links to an extensive list of financial resources for those who wish to adopt.  Read it here.

Questions

Before I close, I have a couple of questions.  The first is this–why is adoption so expensive?  Anyone who has adopted, or considered adopting, or even simply known someone else who has adopted has probably asked that question.  It’s pretty easy to find a few answers and explanations online.  This post, for example, the first in a 3-part series, gives a basic explanation of the cost.  This article does a little better job, in my mind, of actually justifying the cost and putting it in perspective.  Still, I can’t help but wonder if the costs aren’t higher than they should be.

Nevertheless, God provides.  As Glenna also noted in her comment, “God is bigger than my bank account!”

My second question is this–how has God provided for your adoption, or the adoption of someone you know?  Maybe you had to make tremendous sacrifices in order to adopt, but have found that the joys of adoption far outweighed the sacrifices.  Whatever your story, and however God provided, I’d like to hear about it.  The comment section is all yours.