Tags

, , , , , ,

There were vampires and zombies on my iPod a few days ago.  It wasn’t intentional.  I inherited the iPod from my daughter.  Most of the music on it is hers, which is fine, because we like a lot of the same things.  So when I went to the YMCA to work out that morning, I put the iPod on shuffle, got on the treadmill, and listened to some good, mostly familiar music.

After a while, though, a song I didn’t know came on.  I had to look at the display to see what it was.  The song was called “Make a Face Like You Mean It (Vampires)” by House Of Heroes.

Don’t bother to show integrity,
it never sells on the market.
Chain all the world down.
Don’t fuss with your creativity,
they never asked for an artist.
Take all the heart out.
All the kids want to rock,
but they don’t want to sit through another boring chorus.
One or two at the top might give you a shot,
but they don’t want to risk any losses.
Take all the heart out.

The vampires want your blood.
You can’t always get what you want, but they do.
You can’t always get what you want, but they know:
the truth is what they want it to be.

Drop by drop.
The camera flash casts shadows from their egos.
Sing a song like you wrote it.
Puppets don’t think, puppets just dance.
Make a face like you mean it.

I had to chuckle.  It was really good.  And passionate.  I’ve been thinking about doing an occasional series entitled “Songs you won’t hear on Christian radio.”  That could be the first song I feature.  Christian Music Today calls it…

…a telling track that decries the lack of passion and creativity in the music business, likening it to soulless vampires in search of blood. Thank God this band has persevered and been allowed to create the album they wanted to make through Gotee. While they may not sound a lot like Switchfoot, they are one of the best things to happen to Christian rock since that band’s ascension to widespread success. It won’t appeal to everyone, but House of Heroes is in fact a heroic rock effort that stacks up against similar styled offerings outside the Christian music scene.

Not long after the vampires arrived, the zombies showed up.  I probably don’t even need to tell you what song came on a few minutes later.  I am not kidding:  Some Kind Of Zombie by Audio Adrenaline.

Fortunately, the vampires and zombies on my iPod weren’t scary.  I’ll tell you what would be scary, though.   When I’m listening to my iPod at the Y, I frequently feel a nearly irresistable urge to bust out singing at the top of my lungs.   If that ever happens, I might just scare a few poor unsuspecting souls to death.  They would have been better off with vampires and zombies.  At least they would have known what hit ’em.