Tags

, , , , , , ,

Is it a good idea to make New Year’s resolutions?  Some people think so, some don’t.

When Jonathan Edwards was just a young man (only 19) he began composing an impressive list of resolutions, which he resolved to read every week.  He finished the list when he was 20.  Reading it leaves me speechless.  The maturity, the determination, and the godly aspirations expressed in his resolutions are extraordinary, to say the least.

If you’ve never read the list, I would encourage you to do so.  Here’s a link.  On subsequent New Year’s Eves, if I’m still blogging, I would like to write some brief devotional meditations based on Edwards’ resolutions.  They were not New Year’s resolutions, of course, but I think of them every New Year since it’s a traditional time to make resolutions.

Do you make New Year’s resolutions (or better, like Jonathan Edwards, have you made new life resolutions)?  Should you?  Why or why not?