Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Next Monday Abraham Piper will give away two tickets to the 2009 Desiring God Pastor’s Conference to one of his readers.  To be eligible to win the tickets, readers simply have to say why they appreciate their pastor in a blog post.

That’s easy.  I’m thankful for him for many reasons, but I want to name two.

1) He’s passionate.  There’s a fire in his bones (Jeremiah 20:9).  I believe passion is a good thing, but like any other good thing, it can be detrimental if misdirected.  Which leads to my second reason.

2) He’s passionate about the things that matter.  About the glory of God.  About the cross of Christ.  About preaching God’s Word expositionally and refusing to shy away from any difficult text or controversial subject.  About loving his wife.  About shepherding God’s flock.

I love my pastor, and it’s a true pleasure for me to obey the command to “Obey your leaders and submit to them…” (Hebrews 13:17)