Tags

, , , , ,

Some of you will recognize that as a line from the hymn, “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing.”  It expresses something true and unflattering about us.  We have wandering hearts.

You may have noticed that I’ve taken a break from blogging.  That’s because my priorities had gotten skewed (one of the many things that can happen when your heart wanders).  In focusing too much on blogging, I was neglecting people and things that are much more important than a blog could ever be.  I’m ashamed to have to admit that, but it’s true.

I plan to continue thinking and writing, but I’ll blog less frequently than before.  I hope by the grace of God to offer enough substance (and honesty) to make sticking around worth your while.

Here’s the rest of the verse that the title of this post was taken from.  It’s my prayer.

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

(From Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing)