Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Several years ago John Piper wrote that…

“there are numerous single issues that disqualify a person from public office. For example, any candidate who endorsed bribery as a form of government efficiency would be disqualified, no matter what his party or platform was. Or a person who endorsed corporate fraud (say under $50 million) would be disqualified no matter what else he endorsed. Or a person who said that no black people could hold office—on that single issue alone he would be unfit for office. Or a person who said that rape is only a misdemeanor—that single issue would end his political career. These examples could go on and on. Everybody knows a single issue that for them would disqualify a candidate for office.”  (Read the rest.)

Is there a single issue that would, for you at least, disqualify a person from holding public office?  I hope you give that some serious thought.  For instance, would you vote for someone who was personally opposed to slavery, but thought that everyone had a basic right to choose for themselves whether or not to own a slave?

I wouldn’t.

If you visit this blog very often you know that I’m really not very politically minded.  While other people are blogging furiously about a whole host of political topics, my thoughts are elsewhere.  I’m already way past tired of all the usual and unusual election year mudslinging and mindlessly partisan rhetoric.

I will vote, though.  I always have, and I will continue to do so as long as I’m physically and mentally able.

Ultimately, though, I do not think abortion is a political issue at all.  It is so much greater than the triteness of politics.  However, that said, I could never vote for anyone, Republican or Democrat, Christian or non-Christian, black or white, male or female, who believes that a right to kill unborn babies even exists.  There simply is no such right.

So it doesn’t really matter to me if a so-called pro-choice candidate is running for Podunk City Clerk, or President of the United States.  That candidate’s judgment on (unborn) human rights is profoundly and fundamentally flawed.  He has disqualified himself, at least in my eyes, from holding public office.