Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Some people have a hard time reconciling evangelism with God’s sovereignty.  J.I. Packer devoted an entire  book to the subject.  But there have always been men who loved the glorious and humbling truth of God’s sovereignty, and at the same time cared deeply about the souls of men.

J.C. Ryle was one of those men.

Another was C.H. Spurgeon, who is still held in high esteem by preachers all over the world.  I think one of the reasons for that is the obvious passion he had to lead people to Christ.  One of his most popular books was The Soul-Winner.

At the same time he loved to magnify the absolute freedom and sovereignty of God.  One of my favorite sermons by Spurgeon is one entitled “Election”

His passion for souls was evident throughout his entire ministry.  I like to read these words from one of his sermons frequently.  To be honest, they shame me.  I know how important evangelism is, but I’m not nearly as broken-hearted as I should be over those who are lost.  I don’t weep with compassion like Jesus did when he stood looking out over Jerusalem (Luke 19:41)

Oh, my brothers and sisters in Christ, if sinners will be damned, at least let them leap to hell over our bodies; and if they will perish, let them perish with our arms about their knees, imploring them to stay, and not madly to destroy themselves. If hell must be filled, at least let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go there unwarned and unprayed for.

In that, I want to be more like Spurgeon.

Additional Resources:

Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God by J.I. Packer
The Soul-Winner by C.H. Spurgeon
Election a sermon by C.H. Spurgeon