Tags

, ,

Our pastor and his wife recently adopted their first child.  They’ve documented every step of their struggle with infertility as well as the ups and downs of the adoption process on their blog, so I won’t rehash all of the details here.

But I mention it for three reasons.  First, I highly recommend visiting both the main blog and the infertility blog of my pastor’s wife.  In addition to some very good and at times deeply moving prose, you will find a number of other excellent resources there.  You’ll have to mine the archives, but if you’re patient you’ll strike gold.

Second, I wanted to point out the value of their choice to be transparent through all of this.  Neither their struggle with infertility, nor every phase of their adoption process, were at all easy for them.  There were often more sorrows than joys.  But through it all, our entire church was able to “rejoice with those who rejoice”, and to “weep with those who weep” (Romans 12:15).  I believe that for them, as well as for us, that was an indescribable gift of grace.

Last, but not least, I wanted a good excuse to post a picture of the little guy.  Meet Isaiah.  He’s adorable.