Tags

, , , , , , , ,

…I have a question.  Is there a Biblical basis for objecting to a woman serving as president?

I don’t know the answer, but I’d like to.

For any of my readers who are interested in commenting on this topic, please read both this post and the links I’ve included, and then weigh in with your two cents worth.

If you’ve read my previous posts, you know that I support Sarah Palin’s nomination.  I also think that some women may be more capable leaders than some men.  I do not think that women are in any way inferior to men.  None of those statements, however, have anything to do with my original question.

The Bible makes it clear, I think, that in the church a woman is not to govern a man.  “I do not permit a woman to teach or to exercise authority over a man; rather, she is to remain quiet. For Adam was formed first, then Eve; and Adam was not deceived, but the woman was deceived and became a transgressor.” (1 Timothy 2:12-14)

I realize that’s a controversial passage, but there’s no sense pretending it isn’t there.  Paul bases his argument both on the order of creation, and on the order of transgression at The Fall.  He does something similar in 1 Corinthians 11 when he bases his argument there on the order of creation (v.8), and the distinct role for which women were created (v.9).

Taken together, those passages seem to teach that the order and the purpose and the events of both Creation and The Fall demonstrate that a woman should not exercise authority over a man.

So, if you believe that a woman should not exercise authority over a man in the church, should that principle be extended to all other spheres of life?

Please read this post at The Eschatablogical Intrusion and my interaction with the author in the comments, and this post at Reformed Baptist Fellowship.

Then, comment to your heart’s content.  Thanks.