Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve already read some outstanding Reformation Day posts.  I love church history and I love biographies, so it’s thrilling to me to read the riveting accounts of the great (and humble) men and women of God who labored so faithfully for the glory of God and the good of the church.  It cost some of them their lives.

I never tire of hearing about Martin Luther and John Calvin and John Knox and William Tyndale, and many more with lesser known names.  Some of my friends have done a much better job than I could on this Reformation Day of celebrating the lives of those and other Reformers, and I thank God that they have.  “Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith.” (Hebrew 13:7)  One way we can obey that command is by recognizing the sacrifices and contributions of the Reformers.

But I’m not attempting anything nearly so grand today.

Today, I’m simply offering thanks for the reformation-with-a-little-”r” that continues to flourish everywhere the Word of God is faithfully preached.  I’m thankful for all of you lower-case reformers (although you would never think of yourselves as such) who continue to devote your lives to the glory of God and the good of the church.

Today, I’m praying for you and thanking God for you.

(See Tim Challies’ Reformation Day Symposium – 2008 Edition for more.)

