Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Think about the single most joyful moment in your life… that one time you thought you might literally burst with joy.

Then try to grasp what it might be like to have that kind of joy constantly expanding throughout eternity, and your capacity to experience joy constantly expanding with it.  You now have a glimpse of Jonathan Edwards’ magnificent vision of heaven.

October 5 was Jonathan Edwards’ 305th birthday as many bloggers, including my friend David, recently noted.

In 2003 I attended a Desiring God conference in honor of Edwards’ 300th birthday.  Sam Storms’ message at that conference was entitled Joy’s Eternal Increase: Edwards on the Beauty of Heaven. As I sat listening, transfixed, I did not see Sam Storms. I saw instead the beauty of Jesus. And it made me long to be in heaven with him, perhaps more than I ever have in my life.

I highly recommend the sermon. You can watch it, listen to it, or download it here.  If you were at that conference, or have already listened to the sermon, I’d like for you to leave a comment on it for the benefit of other visitors.  Thanks!

