Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday it was Jesus Music, today it’s comics.

I grew up reading comic books.  DC comics, to be exact, because that’s all our one little small-town grocery store carried.  Metamorpho, Flash, Batman, Superman, Justice League of America, Green Arrow, Green Lantern, Atom, Aquaman and others were my constant companions.  If I wasn’t reading about them, I was pretending to be one of them.

I owned a lot of comics, but they probably wouldn’t be worth much even if I still had them, because they were well-read and worn.  At one time, I owned a copy of Metamorpho (1965) #1, pictured above left.

Were any of the rest of you buying and reading comics in the early 60s?

Today I came across a new series from Dust Press.  (Of course, they’re not called comic books any more–they’re “graphic novels.”)

I was wondering, first of all, if anyone knows anything about this particular series or it’s creators?  I believe stories have great power to affect us, and I have a young son who would probably love these.

Even if you’re not familiar with the books, what do you think about the concept itself?  Graphic novels are popular.  If I were young again, these books would probably attract my attention and stimulate my imagination.  Do you think this type of creative approach to telling Bible stories and sharing the gospel is good?  Are there pros and cons?

