Tags

, , , , ,

Continuing to evaluate myself…which isn’t a bad thing.  I’m a new blogger and I need not only to define my goals, but to ask and answer some important questions.  But is that something I need to do simply because I’m new at blogging?  When I’m more experienced can I (or rather, should I) stop asking these questions?  Probably not.

Why am I blogging?  Is it a wise use of my time?  What are my motives?  Am I doing this for myself, for others, or some combination of the two?  Is there value in it even if it’s only for myself?  What do I hope to accomplish?  How can I facilitate more interaction with others?

I’m thankful that I have some friends helping me sort things out.  I received a number of helpful comments in response to a previous post.  One of the commenters, David Porter, pointed out his own blogging mission statement.  It’s very helpful and I recommend it highly.

Tony Kummer also makes a helpful suggestion–view every post as a potential conversation, and not as a publication.  Blogging should foster interaction with others and build community.

Well, I’m not sure how much community it built, but this post certainly generated plenty of interaction!

So, to my friends David and Tony, thank you for helping me as I continue to try to sort things out.

